The way to do it is to do it

I feel it now. The jitters. The anxiety about performing. I’ve been out of the blogging world for so long now. I need to perform! I need to write something halfway decent! Like in the movie Dead Poets’ Society (that had a tremendous influence on me as a kid), I feel like chanting: “Gotta do more, gotta be more!”

Well, that’s just me. I’ve always felt the need to be a little bit more than I am. I’ve always wanted to do better, to be better, to go the extra mile. I think most people see this feature as something negative, since it poses unnecessary pressure, and also as positive, since it makes you aspire to things.

Personally, I’ve always considered it a liability since I’ve noticed that people who do not have this characteristic in general seem to be much more satisfied with their lives. They are more prone to just smiling when fecal matter impacts with the ventilator. They don’t stress out about small things. That is enviable.

Lately, though, I’ve started to see my demandingness from the positive perspective, too. I am not ready to settle for less. I want to live life to the full (just like in Dead Poets’ Society!), and if there are things that simply do not work, I am ready and willing to act to change those things.

Sometimes, if you hate your job and know that it isn’t the right place for you, the best solution may not be just to suck it up and smile, make the best of it, and all that crap. Sometimes, it might be best to say: “so long suckers” and take the rapid lane out.

Demanding more only becomes a problem if your sense of dissatisfaction does not lead to action. If you only dwell on everything that is wrong, and never try to resolve it, you will end up in Deep Trouble and finding your way around will be awful hard. I know, I’ve been there, and there’s no tourist office.

Having said that, sometimes you have to relax and just spit out the things even if they are not such great things. Sometimes that is the best way to doing more, being more. That is the very reason why I am now resuscitating this blog. The only, and the best, way to write is just to write.

Action, just any action, is better than no action at all. And for those of us prone to over-reacting: Action actually reduces reaction.

Just do it, says Nike, the Goddess of sneakers. Just do it.

 

2 thoughts on “The way to do it is to do it

  1. Don’t worry you’ll get back into the swing of things! Try not to put too much pressure on yourself to have perfect posts, just write about what interests you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

