Which Winnie-the-Pooh Character Are You Most Like?

The other day when I was reading Winnie the Pooh to my kids I got this sudden urge to move into the Hundred Acre Wood. Pooh and his friends just sail around in that big forest, eating cake and honey every two weeks to survive. Yet, with the exception of Pooh, no one is ever hungry. No one lacks. All they do is get into adventures and play Pooh-stick. Sounds like childhood.

If I were living in the Hundred Acre Wood, I wonder who I’d be. At the moment I would probably be a cross between Eeyore and Rabbit. Maybe a little bit of Piglet thrown in.

I’ve always felt a deep affinity with Eeyore. He never sees the silver lining, or if he does it’ll be his tail attached to a cloud. He doesn’t do anything much but occasionally others can egg him on to partake in activities, which always make him slightly happy, before he crawls back into his makeshift bungalow to eat thistle. Eeyore doesn’t even weep, since what would be the point?

Rabbit is always working. He doesn’t particularly enjoy it, but he doesn’t have much choice. Life’s one big chore for Rabbit. On the bright side Rabbit is productive and has managed to improve his quality of life by hard work. His carrots make him happy. I dare say many adults would go into this category.

When I was a kid, I was Piglet: small, scared, sensitive and a little artsy. Piglet’s main feature is the fact that she’s very small. Very, very small. What’s more, she knows it. But she doesn’t give up and keeps on trying to overcome her fears, which is a wonderful thing.

Right now I spend most of my days trying to be Kanga even though I’ve never really felt like I fitted that mold. Kanga’s the perfect mother, kind and understanding. She’s always there for Roo.

Of course, you can’t mention Kanga without mentioning Roo, as their names imply. Roo is the least interesting character in the whole Hundred Acre Wood. He’s bright, cheerful, lovable and friendly. Many kids would go into this category before life teaches them quirks.

I sometimes hope to be Tigger, since he’s so energetic. Tigger acts before he thinks, and generally just bounces around and thinks he’s best at everything. Tigger is like the bright side of ADHD. Tigger’s attitude towards life sounds good because it makes him happy. The problem with Tigger is that he just doesn’t think.

Then there’s of course Owl. I recognize a few Owl-like characteristics within me. Owl is a know-it-all, who lounges into lengthy discourses about subjects that are not very interesting to anyone else. Owl pretends to know a lot, but in reality he makes mistakes and has a lot to learn just like everyone else. He places himself up on the pedestal house in the tree, and occasionally flies down to instruct others.

Winnie-the-Pooh is cute, but a little slow on the uptake. He’s everyone’s mate, and the essential Epicurean. His life revolves around his stomach and even though he’s very nice, he’s so addicted to honey that he’s not averse to emptying other people’s cupboards if given half the chance. Pooh Bear is clearly an addict, although a lovable one. You can’t trust him to stick to what he’s trying to do, although you can trust him to genuinely be honest and try. The good thing about him is that he’s not stuck-up. He is just what he is, and he likes others just as they are.

Finally, Christopher Robin, the boy who had to be included since it was his story. He is the prime example of an author’s work being limited since he has to consider other people’s sentiments. Christopher was Milne’s son, so he couldn’t well make him into anything else than the poster boy he is in the books. Kind, caring, patient, in other words totally boring with not a single redeeming fault. Christopher Robin is the sort of character that books on writing warn you about. At the same time, maybe Hundred Acres Wood needs C.R. to balance out the weird stuffed animals.

I did a few tests online, but they didn’t come back right. One test found me to be Tigger, another one Christopher Robin. I did a third test, which had me down as Owl. Funny, that these tests pick the very characters that I wouldn’t have picked for myself. This confirms my suspicion that my affinity to Eeyore is more on the deep, soulful level rather than in practice, and my Rabbit-likeness is entirely due to circumstances and I resent it greatly.

In real life, I guess I would be a cross between Christopher Robin, Kanga and Owl, with Winnie-the-Pooh’s honey addiction thrown in.

These are the tests I used off the top of my Google. They’re very diverting so have a look. Which one are you?

http://www.zimbio.com/quiz/jLtykybs7zr/Winnie+Pooh+Character

http://www.playbuzz.com/alexandriar/which-winnie-the-pooh-character-are-you

http://www.helloquizzy.com/tests/the-deep-and-meaningful-winnie-the-pooh-character-test

7 thoughts on “Which Winnie-the-Pooh Character Are You Most Like?

  1. Haha! I always figured I’m most like Rabbit because I’m so neurotic but 2 of these tests say I’m Piglet and the third says I’m Owl. 🙂

    Like

  2. Ended up with Rabbit, Owl, and Eeyore… Guess I’m a pretty good mix of them. I loved your post, Laura. I AM a Winnie the Pooh fan. Finally had to go buy my grandsons “Winnie the Pooh and Tigger, too” as my daughter doesn’t like them. I guess it’s a generation thing. My son was a Mr. Rogers kid, she hated anything that made her sit still. LOL

    Like

    1. Strangely I didn’t like Winnie-the-Pooh as a kid all that much, but both my kids have loved it at around the age of three and I’ve found it now. As an adult I’ve learned to see all the nuances and the humor better, maybe…

      Like

Leave a Reply

