Impressions After a Journey

I’m finished. Done and dusted. Ready teddy. 100 days of blogging are over.

I started this blog because I wanted to learn how to blog and I wanted to write regularly, not letting the whole thing fizzle out due to excuses. Amazingly enough, it worked.

It’s been a great adventure. Blogging has become much more important to me than I thought it would. One of the things I’ve most enjoyed is coming into contact with so many nationalities and having the chance to read about people’s lives all over the world. I had no idea there are so many incredibly cool blogs and so many warm-hearted, lovely people blogging out there.

At first it was hard to post every day, and I had to remind myself. Approximately 30 days in I felt exhausted and only wanted a break. A little by little I stopped questioning whether to post or not. After day 70 or something I mostly just found my thoughts centering around what to post about, when to find the time, and how to phrase the things I wanted to say. Blogging wasn’t just a habit, it felt almost like an obsession.

I’m proud of some of my posts, and some others make me cringe inwardly every time I think of them. Sometimes I’ve slaved over a post for hours and practically no one’s liked it, and other times I’ve quickly put down a few words and gotten a bunch of likes and never understood why. Even so, I’m happy I wrote each and every one of the posts just the way I did, since they’ve taught me a lot, both the failed ones and the better ones.

I am so happy I joined the free courses at WordPress. Blogging 101 was fantastic and opened “the blogosphere” to me in a way that would probably not have been possible otherwise. I learned so much about the technical side of things. Writing 101 was wonderful too. We are so lucky to have such fantastic resources at our disposal.

When I started writing, I’d get zero visitors on my blog. I was sort of happy about it too, since I wasn’t at all sure that I was comfortable with other people reading what I wrote. Through Blogging 101 I found some readers and started reading other people’s blogs.

I am so grateful for everyone who has taken the time to read, comment, and like my texts. The whole point of writing is in communicating and that’s kind of hard to do with no readers. It’s great to get feedback and I’ve absolutely loved reading your insightful, thoughtful comments. So thank you. Traveling is so much more fun in good company.

I’m still not quite sure about whether I’ll keep posting as normal or if the intervals are going to get a bit longer or more random or what. I’m going to do what I feel like doing for a change. I’m a free woman now! Tomorrow, I’m thinking of taking a day off, but I don’t know. Maybe the force of habit will twist my arm.

Anyway, to be quite honest I’m already doing overtime. Too late I realized that my countdown was faulty and day 100 was actually yesterday. I had to post today anyway to keep up appearances. Embarrassing, I know. I should probably change the blog name to “Hundred and Miscalculating”.

21 thoughts on “Impressions After a Journey

  1. I didn’t get a chance to take Blogging 101, but and have signed up for Blogging 201 which starts tomorrow! … It’s really inspiring to read how you became obsessed with blogging! 🙂 Congratulations on your journey to the end! 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations on hitting 100 days!! I really do hope that you keep it up since I love reading your blog every day!! I too was a little happy in the beginning when no one was viewing my blog, but after the Blogging U course, I am so much happier now in being part of the blogging community a little bit more!

    YAY!! GO YOU!

    Like

  3. I’m proud of some of my posts, and some others make me cringe inwardly every time I think of them. Oh! How many times have I thought this same thing! I bet everyone does from time to time. And, like you, I’ve never been able to figure out why some posts work and others suck. It’s a mystery! Congratulations, btw.

    Like

    1. Yeah, it’s really mysterious. And that’s what’s so great about blogging, that you get immediate feedback for each move. Or don’t, which is one type of feedback.

      Like

  4. I am so glad you did this. You are one of the bright lights I have encountered in the blogosphere and I do hope you will continue to share with us here. Congratulations on succeeding – I’ve no wine but I raise my coffee cup to you.

    Like

  5. Wow! I can’t believe it’s been 100 days already! I know I didn’t start reading your posts at day 1 but it STILL feels like the days flew by! Even if you don’t post daily, I’m sure we’ll all be excited to read whatever you post whenever you decide to post it. : )

    Like

    1. It went by really quickly. I always thought I’d just end the blog if I felt like it, but I’m not sure if I can, I’ve grown so attached to y’all! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

