Bad Day

You know that day?

The day when you get up, even though every bone in your body screams for you to stay in bed and never leave? When you stumble through the morning routine, reluctantly start working, and everything during that day is like struggling up a steep hill with lead weights attached to your hands and ankles? The day when even the most delicious cake turns into sawdust as soon as it hits your mouth? But you eat the whole cake anyway, and then some chocolate?

Today was that day for me. I woke up with a headache, and felt like an anxiety-ridden shipwreck for the rest. I had no appetite (except for sugar), little energy and the volatility of TNT. I had a hard time stopping the negative self-talk. Positively charged batteries kept adhering to my clothing. I expected too much of myself and made my best not to deliver. Today, I was a coal miner of misery and disgruntlement was my diamond.

For Writing 101 I was supposed to write a story that takes place within a single day, but this day was so bad that I couldn’t do it. I found that I could only write about this bad day, and bore the reader with how I ate too many pancakes, drank too little tea, played the piano to keep from writing, and surfed around the Internet looking for proof of my inadequacy.

But towards the evening I relaxed. I remembered that the greatest bit of wisdom you can have on a day like this is to breath deep, not let the panic get to you, and remember that bad days are just like shit. They happen. I don’t know if they happen to everyone but at least to most people.

You’re not yourself on a bad day. You’re the Wicked Witch of the West version, the one that should never have been made and should be cast out from the land of Oz. You’re not the enemy, the Witch is the enemy. Duh.

So maybe I’d better step back and not be so hard on myself. Even the Wicked Witch likes to chill. I’ll read a book, go to bed early and take it easy. The next morning I plan to wake up feeling refreshed and energetic, without a headache, singing:

Ding Dong! The Witch is dead. Which old Witch? The Wicked Witch!
Ding Dong! The Wicked Witch is dead.

Wake up you sleepy head, rub your eyes, get out of bed.
Wake up, the Wicked Witch is dead. She’s gone where the goblins go,
Below – below – below. Yo-ho, let’s open up and sing and ring the bells out.
Ding Dong’ the merry-oh, sing it high, sing it low.
Let them know
The Wicked Witch is dead!

The song is from the Wizard of Oz. Duh.

7 thoughts on “Bad Day

  1. Good description ! Atleast you got something out of a bad day 🙂 When I saw the writing 101 prompt to recreate a single day, I was immediately reminded of all such ‘bad days’ that I had .Something awfully goes wrong with everything on that day and like you, I wish that I would go back to bed and start the day afresh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

