On Crumbling Sandcastles

Ours is an impatient world. We want everything to happen immediately. We love get-rich-quick stories and dream of winning the lottery. We wait for friendships to boom immediately, or not at all. We don’t allow ourselves or each other time to make mistakes. We have become too impatient to even slice our own cheese.

I want to teach my kids that they don’t have to be immediately brilliant at everything they do. Even when they want to be great at something, they must learn that greatness comes incrementally, like a sand castle that is built one shovelful at the time.

sand-603043_1280

Of course, in this day and age you don’t have to take this approach to sand castle building. You can just go to Alibaba and buy a mold, which will create the sand castle of your dreams within minutes. But I want my children to know that in my eyes this easy, effortless, perfectly formed sandcastle does not have half the value of the crumbling, formless sand castle they formed with little hands and big effort.

But they don’t really need me telling them this. Children are smart enough to be proud of the things they have created, unless someone tells them otherwise. This pride is a necessary ingredient to keep them learning. It gives them time to grow and space to make mistakes.

I am impatient to learn how to write better. I don’t want to learn how to walk, I want to run, fast! I hate making mistakes and falling.

My children could probably teach me a thing or two.

3 thoughts on “On Crumbling Sandcastles

  1. Your kids are lucky they have you as their mother. I definitely agree with what you said in this post. The one exception being your belief that you don’t write well. I think you write very well. You are articulate, have profound material to offer and write in a way that other people will understand what you are saying. Maybe it is time to update your image of yourself! 🙂

    Like

  2. We do want everything now. Sad but true. I love what you say about children being smart enough to be proud of what they create. Too bad some children get knocked down instead of lifted up when the create; it can stay with them into adulthood and they may never reach their full potential then everyone loses. You bless your children with your encouragement. You said a lot in your post that needs to be heard. Thank you for sharing at In Other Words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

