Day One

This is hard for me. I mean, really, really hard. Stupidly hard. The kind of hard that makes you wake up at night screaming hard. It shouldn’t be, but it is.

It’s my first blog post and I feel terrified. Of what? Of being rejected, of not being rejected (on account of no one reading), of just feeling like a humongous giant ass with every post I spew out. I don’t know about you, but I don’t particularly enjoy feeling like a humongous giant ass. It’s a deeply unsettling feeling, and unfortunately I get it quite often. I don’t know what that says about me. You be the judge. Or come to think of it, no, don’t be the judge. I’m not sure I want to know.

So why am i writing this and subjecting myself to that very unpleasant state? Because it’s about time. I’ve been meaning to start a blog for years. I’m embarrassed to say just how many years, but it’s been a long, long time. I’ve made a few failed attempts that went only just past the starting line before falling flat on their faces.

This time, I have a strategy. I will post something every day for 100 days, which means right up till the 6th of December. I hope to keep posting after those days are up. Hence the name for this blog. I won’t guarantee quality content, since a promise like that is the equivalent of applying superglue to my fingers. No writing will take place after a promise like that. The only thing I promise is writing every day, and writing things that I actually mean, not trying to be something I’m not, not trying so hard not to be a humongous ass, without actually trying to be one. If you get my drift.

I try to keep these posts fairly brief, not much more than 500 words. I will do my best to work on the courses that WordPress offers. I might post about them, too. My primary goal here is to learn how to blog. This is step one.

I’ve begun.

 

Leave a Reply

